My School Year Resolution

Ok, so it’s not quite the New Year, but it’s July and the new school year is upon us so resolution making is somewhat relevant right? Even if its not, I’m doing it because I think I have a good one.

The idea was sparked when thinking about a quote that my yoga instructor shared with us early second semester. It went something like “If you’re feeling sad, you’re living in the past. If you’re feeling anxious you’re living in the future. And if you’re at peace, you’re living in the present.”

in the moment.jpg

Cool right? Maybe not. Except I thought it was because I am always doing two of those three things. Maybe it is the virgo in me that prompts me to always be within myself and analyze the past and plan out the future. Or it is just the ADHD in me that pulls me away from the task at hand. IDK. All I know is I NEED this resolution to keep me focused, productive, and most importantly happy during this school year.

I think the most important part about living in your current moment is staying busy. That makes sense because if you are pre-occupied with a laundry list of to-dos then you don’t have free time to get sad about that boy you wish you’d spent more time with over the summer, or get anxious over where you will be in your workout plan in a couple months (that is, if you even stick to it altogether). I use to feel like giving myself down time was better than packing my schedule, but I am beginning to realize that I am way more productive when I have things to be doing throughout the day. And with productivity comes happiness. At least in my book.

 

Leave a Reply

