DIY Wrapping Paper Mat

Hey Guys! As I am getting ready to move into my college apartment in August I am DIYing ALL over the place and have some pretty cool project to share! This is my first finished project and it is great way to make your college living place look a little more expensive without actually breaking the bank.

I am a big fan of wall art and I feel like it can make a world of a difference when it comes to brightening up a living space. This DIY is a super cheap and easy and guaranteed to add a custom look to your living space.

Here is what you will need:

Frame: Any size will do but make sure it is light weight enough to hang on a dorm or apartment wall

Mat Board: This is the white border at the outermost part of the frame. You could totally substitute it by cutting white poster paper to the dimensions of the frame but I found it easier to just order them off Amazon.

Wrapping Paper: It’s always a good idea to choose a wrapping paper that has the same colors as whatever is in the artwork it will be framing. I chose this trendy palm leaf paper for $2.99 at HomeGoods because I love palm leaves and the green matches the eyes of the cat in the print that I am using.

Art Print: I used a cat illustration that my mom bought me for my birthday. You can also get really cool, inexpensive prints from Etsy, but if you don’t want to wait around to be sent something in the mail just find something online and print it out.

Then the basics: Scissors, Ruler, and tape if you need it.

Lets get started!!

  1.  Open your frame and place your mat board glossy side up.

DSC06257

2. Measure and cut your wrapping paper so it is big enough to overlap the white frame.

I ended up doing the measuring with the stock paper that came in the frame since it was the exact size I wanted my paper to be.

DSC06259

3. Once you have your wrapping paper cut to the right size, we will add the artwork to the frame. You can do this a couple different ways.

  1. You can place your art face down in the center of the glass like I did and hope that it stays in place when you add the backing (Mine did not, it shifted to the right and was a hassle to fix).
  2. OR you could attach a very small piece of tape to the back of your artwork and center it on the wrapping paper and place them onto the glass together. Whatever floats your boat.

4. Add your backing and hang!!

Depending which way you did step three, just add the wrapping paper and cardboard backing to the frame and press in all the metal brackets and you’re done!

DSC06262

 

 

Leave a Reply

